Rishang Keishing is Cong nominee for state’s Rajya Sabha seat, MPP not to field candidate but to support ex-CM Alimuddin

By : A Staff Reporter 3/14/2008 2:13:26 AM

IMPHAL, Mar 13: Sitting MP, Rishang Keishing has been once again listed as the Congress candidate to contest the elections to the Rajya Sabha for the lone seat from Manipur.

In the meantime, the Manipur People’s Party today said that the party would not nominate any candidate to contest the election and would extend its support to a minority group Muslim candidate.

Rishang Keishing’s name was included in the list of 11 Congress nominees which were declared approved by AICC president Sonia Gandhi today in Delhi.

As many as 17 Congressmen from the state submitted their names to the MPCC president Gaikhangam who is also the chairman of the selection committee of the Congress for the official nominee of the party for the election to the upper house of Parliament from the state.

Gaikhangam rushed to Delhi yesterday with the lists yesterday.
The election is to be held on March 26. The election notification was issued on March 8 and the last date for filing nominations is March 15.

The ruling Congress-CPI coalition Secular Progressive Front government in the state commands a comfortable majority with 35. Three RJD members and some independents are also supporting the government from outside in the 60 member state Assembly.

The Congress has 31 MLAs and CPI four. Even though a good number of state Congressmen submitted their names for candidature, ruling partner CPI so far has not projected any candidate from its side.

The party (CPI) is also for the time being mum on their support to a Congress sponsored candidate this time even though they extended their support to Rishang Keishing in the last election.
Manipur has a lone Rajya Sabha seat and Rishang Keishing of the Congress is the sitting MP.

Election of the lone Rajya Sabha member from Manipur will be held along with seven members from Maharashtra and six each from Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh, five each from West Bengal and Bihar and four each from Orissa and Gujarat.

On the other hand, the MPP today decided not to put up any candidate for contesting the election.

The decision was arrived at a meeting held this morning at the residence of the senior member of the MPP and sitting MLA, O Joy Singh under the chair of its president Dr. L Chandramani.
The meeting was participated by MLAs and senior leader and ex-MP Th Chaoba.

The decision to give support to Md Alimuddin, who was chief minister of the state for two terms and is also a candidate from the minority group, was taken at the meeting.

The MPP took the decision after a thorough deliberation on the matter of minorities in the state who have not sent any MP to any house of Parliament in the 56 years long history of Parliament, a statement of the MPP said today.


RJD gears up for ADC polls
By Our Staff Reporter

IMPHAL, Mar 13 : While welcoming four card holders of CPI Tengnoupal who have joined the RJD, the party has geared up for the District Council and MP elections.

Speaking to reporters at Babupara office today, RJD vice-president (organisation) T Chungsei Haokip and president of Chandel district RJD Limjalet Haokip identified the new entrants as TS Jampao Haokip, Ch Ngamthang Mate, L Thangkholun Haokip and Jangkholen Haokip.

T Chungsei claimed that the RJD will be able to grab the District Councils of Chandel, Churachandpur and Senapati in the District Council elections.

He further said that the party has geared up for the MP election next year.

NNN adds : The State unit of the Rastriya Janata Dal (RJD) has announced that it would field more than 90 candidates in the hill areas for the ADC election in the event the election is held. The ADC Bill has been referred to a Select Committee.



About Zou Sangnaupang Pawlpi Delhi

Zou Students' Association Delhi Branch
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s