Deadline set for ST status report – Dispur constitutes six panels with members of protesting groups

Guwahati, July 18: The Assam government today lobbed the scheduling ball to the court of the six communities, which are demanding ST status. Six committees were formed comprising members of the agitating groups.

The Tarun Gogoi government decided to constitute the three-member committees for each of the six communities seeking Scheduled Tribes status, but added that their inclusion would in no way affect those already in the list.

The decision was taken at a high-level meeting between the government and the representatives of the six communities — Koch-Rajbongshi, tea tribes, Chutia, Moran, Matak and Tai-Ahom — at the Congress Legislature Party office in the Assembly today. The meeting was chaired by the chief minister and attended by planning and development minister Prithibi Majhi, agriculture minister Pramila Rani Brahma and chief secretary P.C. Sharma.

Brahma told the media that the government would constitute and fund the six committees, the members of which will be selected by the respective communities. The committee has been asked to submit the report, if possible, by August, she added. “We will have six committees representing each community. The committee will include, among others, a historian and a lawyer. The committee will justify the claim of the community by tracing its history, origin and livelihood.

They will submit the report to the government, which will then forward it to the Registrar-General of India (RGI) which had earlier rejected their claims. The onus is on the communities to justify their claim and convince the RGI,” she said. “We will see how it can be worked out,” Brahma added.

The six communities were represented by All Assam Moran Students’ Union, the Moran Sabha, All Tai Ahom Students’ Union, All Tai Yuba Parishad, Assam Tea Tribes Students’ Association, Koch-Rajbongshi Students’ Union, Chutia Yuba Chatra Sanimilan, Chutia Jatiya Sanmilan, Matak Yuba Chatra Parishad and Matak Sanmilan.


About Zou Sangnaupang Pawlpi Delhi

Zou Students' Association Delhi Branch
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s